@iloveteeth

15 Oct

When I was loosing my teeth as a young gal I made about $.75 per tooth.  MAYBE $1.00 I’ll have to send a Tweet to my Tooth Fairy to confirm that.

 

Here’s the convo today.

Student: “Guess what Mrs. MegPie?  I lost my tooth!” (hot topic in any first grade class)
Me: “Wow!  That’s awesome! How much did the tooth fairy leave you?
Student: “$20.00”
Other student: “WHAT?!?!  For a teeny old tooth?”
Me in my mind: My thoughts exactly!

My principal walked in shortly after that so I asked him what his tooth fairy brings his boys…He about fainted when he heard about the 20 spot and told me his boys get whatever kind of change is in their tooth fairy’s pocket.

So my husband and I have been discussing the tooth fairy recently and how much she leaves.  I have heard kids in my class get giftcards to random places like Starbucks, Jamba Juice, etc.  (One kiddo even gets a new toothbrush…such smart parents!)  Clearly parents don’t carry cash and they had to do some diggin in the bottom of their junk drawers.  I am not hatin that could be me in a few years! I certainly don’t carry cash minus the $3.00 I make every other Monday babysitting at Jazzercise.
So I pose this question to you…how much does YOUR tooth fairy leave for your kids?  Or what kind of items does she bring?

I happen to know that one of my students is even dressing up as the tooth fairy for Halloween.  I might be able to snatch a picture of her for ya!

3 Responses to “@iloveteeth”

  1. Liser October 15, 2012 at 7:21 pm #

    Dude, I got $1 and I was pretty stoked about it. I really like the idea of the toothbrush though. Perhaps a toothbrush and a dollar? I mean come on these kids are 6. They don’t understand what $20 is. Not to mention the parents are setting the bar WAY to high. They will regret that later. I mean come on think of how many teeth a kid loses and times that by 20

  2. Lindsey October 15, 2012 at 8:31 pm #

    We leave like $5 because I mean seriously….what can you buy this day and age with only $1?!

  3. Patty October 17, 2012 at 11:38 am #

    Our tooth fairy leaves $1. $20/tooth is crazzzyyyyyy!!!!

Leave a Reply

